COPY RECEIVED DATE: つ/14/2020 TIME: るこちんAm TOWN CLERK'S OFFICE

# Seymour Board of Education AWARDS ADVISORY COMMITTEE MINUTES

July 6, 2020 Central Office 6:30 pm

# COMMITTEE MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Karen Blood

Karen Blood Jennifer Ferreira Kate Halligan Tara Petrino Fred Stanek Ed Strumello Jackie Sullivan Vonda Tencza Marlo Verrastro-Ruggiero Elizabeth Vicidomino Michael Wilson Terri Ferrara Oleh Stasyuk Suzanne Rafferty Michael Starkey Lee-Ann Dauerty, Board Clerk

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT:

# OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE:

- I. CALL TO ORDER
  - A. Pledge of Allegiance

Mr. Strumello called the meeting to order at 6:51 pm

# II. ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

Mr. Strumello appointed Marlo Verrastro-Ruggiero as chairperson of the Awards Committee.

# III. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

- A. Review Nomination Forms and Select Recipients
  - Thomas J. Petruny Memorial Education and Environmental Award MOTION: (Mr. Wilson/sec., Mr. Strumello) to name Giana Guerrera as the 2020 Thomas J. Petruny Memorial Education and Environmental Award Recipients

SO VOTED

**AFFIRMATIVE:** Ms. Blood, Ms. Ferreira, Ms. Halligan, Ms. Petrino, Mr. Stanek, Mr. Strumello, Ms. Sullivan, Ms. Tencza, Ms. Verrastro-Ruggiero, Ms. Vicidomino, Mr. Wilson

MOTION PASSES: 11-0

2. Vincentena Kobasa Excellence in Teaching Award

**MOTION:** (Mr. Wilson/sec., Mr. Stanek) to name Ms. Nicole Hiscock as the 2020 recipient of the Vincentena Kobasa Excellence in Teaching Award

SO VOTED

**AFFIRMATIVE:** Ms. Blood, Ms. Ferreira, Ms. Halligan, Ms. Verrastro-Ruggiero, Ms. Petrino, Mr. Stanek, Mr. Strumello, Ms. Sullivan, Ms. Tencza, Ms. Vicidomino, Mr. Wilson

MOTION PASSES: 11-0

3. John J. Gallagher memorial Athletic Award

**MOTION:** (Ms. Ferreira/sec., Mr. Strumello) to name Ms. Peggy Carvahlo as the 2020 recipient of the John J. Gallagher Memorial Athletic Award

## SO VOTED

**AFFIRMATIVE:** Ms. Blood, Ms. Ferreira, Ms. Halligan, Ms. Petrino, Mr. Stanek, Mr. Strumello, Ms. Sullivan, Ms. Tencza, Ms. Verrastro-Ruggiero, Ms. Vicidomino, Mr. Wilson

## MOTION PASSES: 11-0

4. David A. Brumer Excellence in Education Award

**MOTION:** (Ms. Ferreira/sec., Ms. Verrastro-Ruggiero) to name Ms. Tara Andrews as the 2020 recipient of the David A. Brumer Excellence in Education Award

#### SO VOTED

**AFFIRMATIVE:** Ms. Blood, Ms. Ferreira, Ms. Halligan, Ms. Petrino, Mr. Stanek, Mr. Strumello, Ms. Sullivan, Ms. Tencza, Ms. Verrastro-Ruggiero, Ms. Vicidomino, Mr. Wilson

## MOTION PASSES: 11-0

B. Discussion of Next Year's Awards Advisory Committee members

Mr. Stanek said the goal was to have representatives for each school so we would need to replace our graduating parent from the high school. In the future this may be expanded to two from each school but this would be discussed at a later date.

## IV. INFORMATION AND REPORTS

- A. Reports
  - 1. Chairman's Report
    - None
  - 2. Superintendent's Report

Mr. Wilson thanked the member of this committee for their time and dedication to this committee. We think our awards are very special and appreciate their dedication to choosing the best recipient for each award. The recipients chosen tonight will be honored at a future Board meeting. He thanked Ms. Petrino for her service to this committee and wished her the best of luck.

## V. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: (Ms. Verrastro-Ruggiero /sec., Mr. Wilson) to adjourn

#### SO VOTED

**AFFIRMATIVE:** Ms. Blood, Ms. Ferreira, Ms. Halligan, Ms. Petrino, Mr. Stanek, Mr. Strumello, Ms. Sullivan, Ms. Tencza, Ms. Verrastro-Ruggiero, Ms. Vicidomino, Mr. Wilson **MOTION PASSES:** 11-0

The meeting adjourned at 7:10 pm

Submitted by: Lee-Ann Dauerty Board Clerk