

Ocean City Environmental Commission



What is the Environmental Commission?

The environmental commission is a local body of seven Ocean City residents appointed by the Mayor and two members appointed by the City Council. The commission meets regularly to discuss local issues pertaining to the environment. The purpose of the commission is to provide protection, development and use of natural resources, including water resources, within the city of Ocean City. The commission aims to help improve the city by reducing litter and trash, reducing beach erosion, minimizing resource consumption, promoting care for wildlife and natural resources, and educating citizens and visitors about environmental issues.

Accomplishments

The commission constructed a demonstration dune project between 11th and 12th streets on the boardwalk, created educational lecture series and school educational projects, and strived to advance Ocean City's Sustainable New Jersey certification. In addition, the commission participates in the city's Green



Fair and regularly reviews site plans for environmental impact.

Current Commission Members

Marty A. Mozzo (Chairperson) Donna Moore James Tweed John Loeper (Planning Board Appointee) Peter Ault Sara Alison Maas **Christopher Halliday** David T. Hayes (Alternate I) John Aitken (Alternate II) Caitlin Aldridge (Student Liaison) Lia Palaparis (Student Liaison) Minh Vu (Student Liaison) Matt von der Hayden (City Liaison) (Manager of Capital Planning) (609)-525-9360 mvonderhayden@ocnj.us